Thursday, October 6, 2011

End of Days updated FAQ!

We've gotten a few questions and were sorting out how the codexes released since the last end of days are fitting into the mix.  This list is the current EoD FAQ 2.0

Again, any questions please email them to  Even if you see us locally, OST and I are coordinating this from two different states so in order to give consistent answers everything has to go through the email, so please be sure to email them or post them in a comment here.  And finally, if you're doing something obscure or that even the tiniest voice inside you says "this might not work" or "are you sure it works that way?"  email us.  Its better for your sake to have it in writing that it works from the FAQ than to find out the day of that it doesn't.

We're still working out the exact details but expect some finalized posting middle of next week!

Though we don't have a points total yet (strongly leaning to 1250) the format is the same; Each person draws from a different codex, one HQ and one troop, and then each person has their own force org and may chose a unit from a separate codex.  The players may not choose units from the same codex, thus if both players took extra special units they would be drawing from four separate codices.

End of Days tournament FAQ

This FAQ is designed to answer some of the basic questions that have come up since the announcement of the Tournament back in May. This FAQ is designed to supplement the current FAQ rulings available on Games Workshop’s Web site and of course the codices and Big Red Rulebook! Remember that the golden rule is to have fun and to make sure both you and your opponent are having a good time.
Q. When taking the optional units from a separate codex, may I also take the unit’s dedicated transport if available? If not, then can units from different codexes ride in different vehicles?
A. No, you may not take the dedicated transport, but unless it states in the unit’s entry that they cannot ride in vehicles (lesser daemons ect.), then units may ride in any friendly transport on the field with the following exceptions:

1. Monstrous Creatures may never use a transport.
2. If the vehicle normally may only transport 25mm based models, then they may only transport those models. If a model is capable of transporting 40mm bases, then they count as two models for the purpose of transport (same as they would in a Land Raider or Ork Trukk).
3. Models with jump packs and jump infantry may only ride in transports that allow jump infantry such as the Storm Raven.
Q. “How do psychic powers work when shared across different armies? Example: Can Eldrad Uthwe cast fortune on Daemons?”

A. It is important to read your codex entry for this one as it applies not only to psychic powers, but also to other effects and powers. If your codex says in the entry for a psychic power that it can only be used on a certain army type, then that is how it will work in the End of Days. Example: Fortune in the Eldar codex states “Nominate 1 Eldar unit within 6” According to this ruling, only an Eldar unit may be targeted by and benefit from Fortune. – And no, Dark Eldar don’t count as Eldar for this purpose, nice try though!
The same goes for things like Monoliths. A monolith may only transport Necrons according to the wording of its entry – though it otherwise would function normally.
Q. What about Necrons? Can any Necron units be taken as the OTHER CODEX units and if so, wouldn’t they just phase out?
A. For the purposes of being able to field those units of Necrons and including them as viable choices in the End of Days, individual units of Necrons bought as additional units by armies fielding separate codexes will not phase out – However, armies composed of Necrons will still be subject to the phase out rule.
Q. Can terminators be transported by a Vendetta/Valkyrie?

A. No. As the rule stood in the old Imperial Guard FAQ, terminators or other 40mm base creatures may not ride in a Vendetta/Valkyrie.

Q. How loose are the rules for actual models being WYSIWYG? Can I bring heavily modified or converted models to the tourney under the condition that they count as something else? “IE, I don’t want to own any Tyranids models, but I want to run the Doom of Malan’tai. Since I am an Ork player, I wanted to run a Weirdboy instead; is this possible?”
A. The rule on stand-ins is simple. To make it easy for everyone, your stand-in model or conversion should be on the same size base and should be roughly as tall and as wide as the original model. For the example, the Doom of Malan’Tai is a form of Zoanthrope, thus your wierdboy for this tournament should be on a 40mm base and either raised up on some rocks or maybe hovering. This makes it fair and lends itself to a cool conversion idea. If all else fails, buy a zoanthrope!

The second half of this answer concerns WYSIWYG. If a model is supposed to be armed with an autocannon, but you have him armed with a missile launcher, you are violating WYSIWYG, If he is supposed to be wearing a jump pack and you have him wearing a regular pack, you are violating WYSIWYG. – However we will not be so evil as to say that grenades must be modeled AND if your codex entry gives you bolters, bolt pistols and close combat
Q. There are a number of models that do not exist right now that have rules in the GW codexes, like the Thunderwolf Cavalry, Tyrannofexes, Tervigons ect. What base size should those be?
A. Look, the purpose of this tourney is to have fun and I would hate for people to spend the whole tournament getting bent out of shape about base size and stuff like that. I can also see the point in setting a standard so that there are no shenanigans like “Hey this dire wolf on the 25mm base is a Wolf Lord on Thunderwolf, FEAR ME!” The key is to use common sense. Here is the baseline set of rules for some models that don’t exist:

Thunderwolf cav – bike base minimal, 60mm base max.
Tyrranofex, Tervigon, Harpy – 60mm base minimal, Large Oval Base max
Daemon Chariots – Chariot Bases period.

Q: Does the swarmlords/hive tyrants abilities work on non tyranid models that do not specify tyranid models? 
A:Swarm Leader- Yes, works on any friendly unit.
Alien cunning- Yes, works on any of your teams reserves/outflank rolls.
Hive commander- Yes, works on any of your teams reserves or troop units.
Old Adversary- no, only nids as per the wording would gain the benefits.

Q:Can grand strategy from a grey knight grandmaster affect models in only the persons list who has purchased him or all models from both lists that fit his description?

A: Any unit from either list.

Q: Can retinue models be bought in addition to the extra unit slot? i.e. can the swarmlord or vect purchase a unit of tyrant guard or a court of the archon/dias of distruction?

A: No, just like they can't take their dedicated transport option.
Q: Can a model be affected by multiple psychic countering abilities? Ex: a librarian takes a psychic check within range of another librarian and a rune priest. Could both models attempt to nullify the psychic power?

A: No, hoods and rune staves don't give a double null zone; you can choose one or the other if they're both in range. Also, specifically the Aegis, combined with shadows in the warp would cause the LD penalty and the 3d6 testing, with the perils on a 12 or greater. Same applies to runes of warding.
If you had shadows in the warp, and runes of warding you would not suffer perils twice on a 12 or greater or be required to roll on 4d6. Rule of thumb should be nullifing effects do not stack to give two chances to nullify but interfering effects can overlap but still not stack penalties/benifits. (i.e. runes of warding and the aegis)
Q: Do servo skulls benefit all friendly models or only the grey knight players units? Example: daemons deepstriking near the skulls or vindicators scattering 1d6 less. Also does the reduction of the servo skulls stack with the reduction of descent of angels?

A: Yes, skulls work as described in the GK codex for any friendly unit in your team. Descent (or any other scatter reduction ability) does not stack with the skulls.
Q: Can a model with decent of angels attach to a unit that does not have it and deepstrike with them allowing them to scatter less? Example: a librarian with a jump pack deep strikes with a squad of terminators, does the squad gain the ability to scatter 1d6 less?

A: He can deep strike with them since he would gain the deepstrike rule and in order for a unit to deep strike, everyone in that unit must have the rule. Unless the entire squad is from the blood angels codex, has the descent rule, and is arriving via jump pack, they would not have a reduced scatter or rerolling failed reserve rolls.

Q: Does the sanguinors blessing extend to multiple codexes? Example intended: could a grey knight sergeant/justicar/knight of flame if selected benefit from his blessing?

A: Any unit in your force may have its 'sergeant' upgraded. Generally, whatever the most common sergeant equivalent should be used. For example: Justicar, wolfguard, Exarch, Shas'ui, or Nob are the unit types of their respective codex eligible for The Sanguinor's Blessing.
Q: If you are able to stack multiple abilities to decrease a reserve roll to below a 2+ on the second turn do the models deep striking automatically come in? Example: two grandmasters pass checks for psychic communion and the swarmlord or a hive tyrant are still alive.

A: No, you can not push better than a 2+, however you may be 2+ for multiple turns. Also, you cannot push (or be pushed) higher than 6+


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  2. Stahly, I recognize you from comments in past posts and I appreciate the fact that you are a regular reader of our blog. We also would love to get involved with your blog network, but we don't live snipe posts in our comments.
    A snipe is a form of spam comment where you drop an obligatory line like "nice job" and then advertise your business, or in this case blog, for multiple paragraphs.
    Hopefully, you haven't painted the blogosphere with this kind of commentary as it generally isn't appreciated and is blatantly selfish.
    Please shoot us an e-mail and we will gladly collaborate with you to help advertise your blog network and maybe ever get some cross posting done, but we will do it appropriately.