Friday, January 25, 2013
Necrons; Whats in the FAQ
The new FAQ meant a lot of things for a lot of armies but for the Necrons it just means our games become more streamline and a lot less 'So, I usually play this this way, how do you play it' is being said before games for us. Here's a recap of what it all means for us.
Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace- I thought the columbian death squad was bad but seriously, people played that everytime they showed up from reserve they marked a new unit? I can totally see it being the RAW players wet dream. I imagine its some dominate personality dickhead saying 'well they arrived from reserve so I mark a new unit'. This update to deathmarks just shows the level of asshole that is out there playing this game and more than anything makes me sad.
Night Scythe- Can it carry infantry? Had to be put in words, I get it. The really big one here was embarked units taking the st10 hits when it drops. I'm super happy because I had no real rules reason to say they don't and I hate to base rules on fluff. At best I had an old FAQ printed out that had this question and answer in it which said they do not take the hit. For some reason the genius FAQ department just erased the question and put it back in the land of obscure.
On a note about the Scythes, it would have been nice to get a FAQ about the doom scythe drawing a line from its front arch and going under and behind the the Doom Scythe. I don't see why not with what they did with the Hell Drake. Or even just saying the damned thing is a turret because well...why not if they're doing that BS with the Hell Drake.
Rolls of 6 triggering on snap fire- Seriously? You're BS 1, that the only change. Straight not possible to improve, BS 1. If you're really going to ask that they why not ask does twin linked work with snap fire. Some people's kids...
Command Barge - Finally they clear up that you can in fact attack the rider or the Barge. I've played it this way because I couldn't see why not. Beyond that they even had the foresight to say once the barge is wrecked the combat is over and the lord just jumps off. Not sure that was a good call, but it does take a little wind out of its sail when it comes to mixing it up with troops. However if your barge is charged, at least the lord isn't stuck in combat on your turn; that the silver lining. I still will put two in my list without a second thought despite this slight change in their role.
The FAQ didn't bring such gifts as it did for the Hell Drake, but it definitly takes a fair amount of the grey area out of the codex and that is about all I can ask for from a FAQ. What other grey areas in the codex do you guys come across? What would you like to see in the next FAQ??